Your Second Home and Carbon Monoxide Detectors As a Second Homeowner – you may not know that Carbon Monoxide Detectors are required to be installed in any Colorado home that is heated with fossil fuel, has a fuel-fired appliance, has a fireplace, or has an attached garage (this represents the majority of homes in the Crested Butte area).
Six years ago the Lofgren family (Parker, age 39, Caroline age 42, Owen, age 10, and Sophie, age 8) died from carbon monoxide poisoning in the Aspen Colorado rental home they were staying in during their Thanksgiving vacation on Thursday, November 27th, 2008. Investigators found a disconnected exhaust pipe leaked the odorless gas into the house. As a result of this tradegy the extended family of the Lofgrens and their good friends have worked tirelessly to educate the public about the dangers of carbon monoxide including getting legislation passed in Colorado and many other states. They also have created a website for educational purposes: Lofgren Carbon Monoxide Initiative Colorado Law – On March 25, 2009, Governor Bill Ritter signed into law Colorado House Bill 1091 requiring the installation of carbon monoxide alarms in residential properties. This bill is called the Lofgren and Johnson Families Carbon Monoxide Safety Act. This law requires homeowners and owners of rental property to install carbon monoxide alarms near the bedrooms (or other room lawfully used for sleeping purposes) in every home that is heated with fossil fuel, has a fuel-fired appliance, has a fireplace, or has an attached garage. This requirement applies to every home that is sold, remodeled, repaired, or leased to a new tenant after July 1, 2009. For any home offered for sale or transfer, this law requires that an operational carbon monoxide alarm be installed within 15 feet of the entrance to each bedroom (or other room lawfully used for sleeping purposes), or in any location otherwise specified by a state or local building code. This requirement must be included in the listing contract. Do You have CO2 Detectors Installed in Your Home? If you own a second home in Crested Butte and you have not installed Carbon Monoxide detectors (or don’t know) you should call your Property Manager or handyman to check, and get them installed. Or you may choose to go to the local hardware store to buy them and install them yourself on your next visit. You can expect to pay between $20 and $50 for a battery powered Carbon Monoxide Detector, and $40 – $100 for a combo Carbon Monoxide/Smoke Detector. Hardwired units are more expensive and should be installed by your electrician. These detectors should be installed outside of every bedroom, and also recommended in hallways or rooms adjacent to the attached garage.
How can I help you? If you considering Selling your Crested Butte home and are interested in finding out what your existing property is worth – call me. The Crested Butte area offers a wide variety of properties including ski in/ski out single family homes, ski-in/ski-out condominiums, lake and river frontage properties, golf course property, and true fine mountain homes on acreage. To see featured properties or search the MLS – visit chriskopf.com.
I appreciate the opportunity to earn your business and be your Crested Butte Real Estate Agent.
Contact me at: (970) 209-5405, or firstname.lastname@example.org
Chris Kopf Previews® Property Specialist Coldwell Banker Bighorn Realty
Check out the Chris Kopf YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/ChrisKopfCB/videos